Senin, 22 Februari 2010

Suicide Silence

Suicide Silence were founded in 2002 in Riverside, California, formed in 2002. The band consists of vocalist Mitch Lucker, guitarists Chris Garza and Mark Heylmun, drummer Alex Lopez and bassist Dan Kenny. Since their inception, the band has released two full-length studio albums, two EPs, four music videos and won two awards.

The Cleansing (2002–2008)

Suicide Silence were founded in 2002 in Riverside, California, by members Mitch Lucker and Chris Garza and performed their first show at a local area within Riverside and at that time the band consisted of the members Chris Garza and Josh Goddard as guitarists, Mike Bodkins as bassist, Alex Lopez as drummer and two vocalists, Mitch Lucker and Tanner Womack. Shortly after their first performance, Womack was fired from the band and they released their first demo the following next year. They released their second demo in 2003 and recorded their third in 2005. Following within 2005, the band released an EP entitled Suicide Silence EP, two years later, the band released their first full-length album The Cleansing, the album was recorded with producer Krissan Duwason and mixed by Tue Madsen. The album debuted at number 94 on the Billboard 200[1], selling 7,250 copies the first week, and became the second best-selling artist debut in Century Media history.

All prior to signing to Century Media, the band released self-recorded demos in 2003 and 2004, and in late 2005 the group put out their first quality studio-recorded release entitled Suicide Silence EP[2][3] which was released in the UK by Third Degree Records and later re-released by the English label In at the Deep End Records and in the US by SOS Records. The band were included to take part in Mayhem Festival that took place summer 2008. They toured Europe with Parkway Drive and Bury Your Dead, following a successful US tour with the same bands. Also touring with Parkway Drive, A Day to Remember and The Acacia Strain in mid 2008 during the time when they were included to perform at Sweat Fest, and were beginning to gain a wide range of fans throughout the world.

In 2008 the band covered the song "Engine No. 9" by Deftones that appeared on their debut album Adrenaline, Suicide Silence released the cover on their limited edition second EP Green Monster as well as iTunes.

No Time to Bleed (2008–present)

Shortly before embarking on the Mayhem Festival, the band's MySpace profile title read "Suicide Silence (Is writing a new album)". On June 26, 2008, Mitch Lucker appeared on the Headbangers Ball blog podcast. In the interview, Mitch stated that the new album would be recorded through tracks as opposed of being recorded live, such as The Cleansing. The album was released on June 30, 2009, but was previewed on MySpace in the days leading up to the release.[4] He also said the new album would "blow The Cleansing away". Machine was chosen by the band to be the producer of the album.

Suicide Silence began recording their second album entitled No Time to Bleed in February with producer Machine and engineer Will Putney.[5] The band has been playing four new songs, entitled "No Time to Bleed", "Your Creations", "Lifted" and "Wake Up" from the upcoming album on their Cleansing the Nation tour, and the Music As A Weapon tour. In April they received the Revolver Golden God award for "Most Innovative Band" and performed at the awards show.

Suicide Silence were included on 2009's Pedal to the Metal tour, along with the bands Mudvayne, Static-X, Bury Your Dead, Dope and Black Label Society.

In 2009, Suicide Silence was awarded the Golden God award for "Best New Talent", their second Golden God award received to date.[6]

Suicide Silence released their second full-length album No Time to Bleed on June 30, 2009 through Century Media with Machine as producer. The album peaked at #32 on the Billboard 200.[7] Their song "Genocide" is featured in the Saw VI soundtrack.[8]

Throughout November and December 2009 Suicide Silence started touring with Machine Head and Megadeth and played at numerous shows,[9] but then had to cancel the final show that would be performed in Reno, NV on December 16, 2009. Vocalist Mitch Lucker originally hid the reasons upon why it was coming to happen by stating "We're sorry to announce that we won't be playing tonight in Reno. Megadeth, Warbringer and Arcanium will still be there so head out and show your support for those awesome bands!" but then one of the band managers announced; "Suicide Silence are not allowed to play Reno due to Dave Mustaine's ego. Kicked off last two days of tour and had laminates removed." Following along drummer Alex Lopez explained "Dave Mustaine kicked us off the Megadeth tour [because] he wanted to take our laminates for a little incident [some] weeks ago, so we told him to fuck off." While bassist Dan Kenny stated "I would love a fist fight with Dave Mustaine, I hear he is quite good at MMA; I would triangle him in a second!".[10][11]

They will be playing during the whole Warped Tour 2010 on the Hurley Stage.

Styles and influences

Suicide Silence perform an extreme metal musical style known as deathcore,[12][13][14] which is a fusion between the two heavy metal musical styles metalcore and death metal.[15][16] The band perform this style as well as gain influences from several extreme musical genres such as black metal, grindcore, and mathcore[17]. The mathcore elements can be seen in the varied speed changes and occasional time signatures of the band's music. The vocals of Mitch Lucker are frequently fluctuating between death growls and high-pitched screamed vocals used in black metal[18]. The drumming is very fast-paced, grindcore influenced, and employs a liberal use of double bass drumming and blast beats.

The band members themselves have stated that they gain influence from groups such as Meshuggah, Sepultura, Suffocation, Nile, Slipknot, Deftones and Korn.[19][20]

Band members

  • Tanner Womack – vocals
  • Josh Goddard – guitar, drums
  • Mike Bodkins – bass guitar
Studio albums